Utah

Utah has an anti-choice legislature that bans a safe abortion procedure with no exception to protect a woman's health. Any physician in violation of the law can be fined and/or imprisoned. Utah also allows the woman's husband or her parents to bring a civil suit for damages against the physician. Utah prohibits abortion after viability unless necessary to preserve the woman's life, to prevent "substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function," to prevent the birth of a child with lethal defects, or if the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest that has been reported to law enforcement. Additionally, a second physician must approve the later abortion procedure. Utah will now require doctors to provide anesthesia to women having abortions at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later.

Restrictions: 
Constitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability
Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health

Utah

Enacted legislation:

Utah has an anti-choice legislature that bans a safe abortion procedure with no exception to protect a woman's health. Any physician in violation of the law can be fined and/or imprisoned. Utah also allows the woman's husband or her parents to bring a civil suit for damages against the physician. Utah prohibits abortion after viability unless necessary to preserve the woman's life, to prevent "substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function," to prevent the birth of a child with lethal defects, or if the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest that has been reported to law enforcement. Additionally, a second physician must approve the later abortion procedure. Utah will now require doctors to provide anesthesia to women having abortions at 20 weeks of pregnancy or later.

Pending legislation: N/A
Restrictions: Constitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability | Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health