Louisiana

In 2012, Louisiana passed an unconstitutional 20-week ban on abortion. The law bans all abortions after 20 weeks post-fertilization with only limited exceptions for situations in which an abortion would be necessary to either save a woman’s life, to prevent the risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function, or in the event of a “medically futile pregnancy.” The law excludes mental health from this narrow health exception and prohibits a physician from performing an abortion even if he or she believes there is a risk that the woman may commit suicide or otherwise harm herself. The ban is currently in effect. 

Restrictions: 
Unconstitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability
Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health
Requires second physician in attendance to treat a fetus if it is born alive

Louisiana

Enacted legislation:

In 2012, Louisiana passed an unconstitutional 20-week ban on abortion. The law bans all abortions after 20 weeks post-fertilization with only limited exceptions for situations in which an abortion would be necessary to either save a woman’s life, to prevent the risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function, or in the event of a “medically futile pregnancy.” The law excludes mental health from this narrow health exception and prohibits a physician from performing an abortion even if he or she believes there is a risk that the woman may commit suicide or otherwise harm herself. The ban is currently in effect. 

Pending legislation:

In February 2018, Louisiana Senator John Milkovich pre-filed legislation to ban abortions after 15 weeks gestation. The bill contains narrow life and health exceptions and does not contain exceptions for mental health or pregnancies resulting from rape or incest. For the latest bill status, click here.

 

Restrictions: Unconstitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability | Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health | Requires second physician in attendance to treat a fetus if it is born alive