Mississippi

In January 2018, Mississippi Representative Becky Currie (R-092) introduced legislation to ban abortion at 15 weeks dating from the woman’s last menstrual period. The bill, H 1510, provides narrow exceptions to preserve the life and health of the woman and for severe fetal abnormalities. It contains no exceptions for incest or rape. This bill also creates reporting requirements for physicians who perform abortions after 15 weeks in the case of an exception. Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant signed the bill into law on March 19, 2018. The Center for Reproductive Rights is challenging the law and a Federal District Court has temporarily blocked the law from taking effect.

In 2014, Mississippi passed an unconstitutional 20-week ban on abortion. The law bans all abortions at 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period with only limited exceptions for lethal fetal anomalies and situations in which an abortion would be necessary to either save a woman’s life or prevent the risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function. The law excludes mental health from this narrow health exception and prohibits a physician from performing an abortion even if he or she believes there is a risk that the woman may commit suicide or otherwise harm herself. The ban is currently in effect.

Restrictions: 
Unconstitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability
Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health

Mississippi

Enacted legislation:

In January 2018, Mississippi Representative Becky Currie (R-092) introduced legislation to ban abortion at 15 weeks dating from the woman’s last menstrual period. The bill, H 1510, provides narrow exceptions to preserve the life and health of the woman and for severe fetal abnormalities. It contains no exceptions for incest or rape. This bill also creates reporting requirements for physicians who perform abortions after 15 weeks in the case of an exception. Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant signed the bill into law on March 19, 2018. The Center for Reproductive Rights is challenging the law and a Federal District Court has temporarily blocked the law from taking effect.

In 2014, Mississippi passed an unconstitutional 20-week ban on abortion. The law bans all abortions at 20 weeks after a woman’s last menstrual period with only limited exceptions for lethal fetal anomalies and situations in which an abortion would be necessary to either save a woman’s life or prevent the risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function. The law excludes mental health from this narrow health exception and prohibits a physician from performing an abortion even if he or she believes there is a risk that the woman may commit suicide or otherwise harm herself. The ban is currently in effect.

Pending legislation:

 

 

Special notes:

Legislative ban enacted in 2014 on abortions 20 weeks after fertilization/22 weeks LMP.

Restrictions: Unconstitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability | Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or physical (but not mental) health

Legislative news

Mar 28, 2018:

On March 19th, Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant signed into law the Gestational Age Act (...