Missouri

Missouri has a highly restrictive environment for later abortion, banning all abortions even if deemed safe. The ban renders any abortion procedure that falls within a broad definition a felony, unless necessary to preserve the woman's life or physical (but not mental) health. A physician providing abortion care after 20 weeks gestational age must perform extensive viability testing and report such findings to the state health department. A second physician must also attend the procedure. Violation of these requirements is a class C felony punishable by a prison term of not less than one year and a fine of not less than $10,000.

Restrictions: 
Constitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability
Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or health (physical or mental)
Requires second physician in attendance to treat a fetus if it is born alive

Missouri

Enacted legislation:

Missouri has a highly restrictive environment for later abortion, banning all abortions even if deemed safe. The ban renders any abortion procedure that falls within a broad definition a felony, unless necessary to preserve the woman's life or physical (but not mental) health. A physician providing abortion care after 20 weeks gestational age must perform extensive viability testing and report such findings to the state health department. A second physician must also attend the procedure. Violation of these requirements is a class C felony punishable by a prison term of not less than one year and a fine of not less than $10,000.

Pending legislation:

In January 2018, Missouri Representative Donna Lichtenegger (R-146) introduced legislation to ban abortions at 22 weeks dating from the woman’s last menstrual period. The bill, H 1266, contains narrow exceptions to save the life of the patient or to avert serious risk of substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function. It does not create exceptions for mental health or rape. In case of an exception, this bill states that the physician must perform the abortion in a that is manner most likely to allow the fetus to survive unless it would pose a risk to the patient. It also creates onerous reporting requirements. To view the latest bill status, click here. Three similar bans (HB 692;HB 757;HB 908) introduced during the 2017 legislative session failed the state’s adjournment deadline on May 12, 2017.

Restrictions: Constitutionally limits abortion by gestational age after viability | Prohibits later abortion except to preserve a woman's life or health (physical or mental) | Requires second physician in attendance to treat a fetus if it is born alive